WHAT!!!! Conflict in a book?

There are conflicts in The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. One type of the conflict in The Book Thief is character vs character(s). For example, there is External and there is also Internal. The example that I’m giving is character vs character(s) and it is under External. Liesel is the protagonist and Max is the antagonist. Liesel is hoping that she can find Max in one of the many long lines of walking Jews, but he is never there. I think that Liesel feels worried about Max because they were friends but then he left without explaining why. I think that Liesel will go after Max, because in the book she always goes down to the long line of Jews that are walking through the town. I also think that Liesel will find Max later in the book. I think this because I think that if Liesel and Max are friends then Liesel will not give up to look for him.

SmilingStrong

Another type of conflict in The Book Thief is character versus nature. Character versus nature is External again. Hitler is the protagonist and the Jews are the antagonist. Hitler hates the idea of having Jews in Nazi Germany, but they have always been there. I think that Hitler feels very paranoid because he doesn’t like the Jews. Also he can’t get rid of them unless everyone agrees with him. Everyone won’t agree with Hitler because not everyone can be brain washed with words to hate Jews. Also I know this because Hitler is loosing the war so he is taking more  German men. In this situation it is a lose-lose. It is a lose-lose because Hitler can’t get all the Jews out of Nazi Germany, and the most Jews will not have homes.

Leonrw

A third type of conflict is character versus society. The protagonist is Max and the antagonist is the Nazi’s. This example is External. In the book, Max is leaving because he is a Jew. Max doesn’t have to leave because no one knows that he is there. Also I think Max left because he was feeling too unsafe. I think this because two Nazi’s came into the Hubermann’s house and after they left, Rosa, Hans and Liesel found him with scissors, behind a sheet, in their basement If Max had stayed, I think that he would have been caught. In this situation, it is a lose-win. It is a lose-win because Max leaves so he loses, and the Nazi’s win because there is one less Jew in the town.

richardmasoner

~ by kassoneil on January 25, 2011.

4 Responses to “WHAT!!!! Conflict in a book?”

  1. Good post. I noticed how you used not just the main characters but Hitler and the Nazis as well. I think that is cool how you used more then one character in your post while most of the rest of us used single characters. How did you get the idea for not just using the main characters but the villains point of view as well?

    • Hi! Thank you. It took a lot of work and I just didn’t want to only have Liesel, Max, Hans, and all the rest of the characters in my post, so I figured that if I put in something about Hitler and the Nazis, I could do better. Thank you for commenting,
      Kassie!

  2. Awesome post. I liked the conflicts you chose to write about. Is there any conflicts you did not get to put in your post that you would have liked to? I liked how in the beginning you said exactly what type of conflict you were going to write about. Your first paragraph reminded me of when I get so determined to do something I will not give up. This is the same determination that Liesel has to find Max.

    • Hi! Thank you. Yes there is some conflicts that I wanted to put in, but they just didn’t seem right with the rest of my ideas. Also, there is also a type of conflict that I couldn’t put in. I couldn’t find any character versus self (there was lots in the book, but none caught my attention). Thank you for commenting,
      Kassie!

Leave a comment